Fahadh Faasil, Parvathy and many other recipients skip the National Awards ceremony

There is not much clarity on why the President’s office decided to choose only select winners and not everyone to receive the award from.

By   |     |   5,569 reads   |   4 comments

Few days ago, the Information and Broadcasting Ministry of India announced the 65th National Awards and many South Indian films, actors and filmmakers won the awards in various categories. Films like Baahubali, Take Off, Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum, Kaatru Veliyidai and many other films won the National Awards in various categories much to the joy of South Indian movie lovers. However, the winners of the National Awards were in for a shock after they were notified just a day before receiving the award that the Honourable President of India, Ramnath Kovind, will hand over the awards to only 11 out of the 160 winners and not everyone. This came as a shocker to the winners and showing their disappointment, many winners including Fahadh Faasil, Parvathy and KJ Yesudas wrote to the I&B Ministry about this in a letter which was also copied to The President of India office.

However, much to their disappointment, nothing was heard back from the Ministry and the awards ceremony continued as notified by the authorities and the President handed over the awards to the select recipients out of all the winners. Protesting this ill treatment by the authorities, many winners including actors Fahadh Faasil and Parvathy gave a skip to the awards ceremony and returned back from Delhi where the awards ceremony took place. The issue has now become a huge row and many acclaimed filmmakers and industry experts are lashing out at authorities for the disparity in handing over the National Awards to the winners. However, there is not much clarity on why the President’s office decided to choose only select winners and not everyone to receive the award from.

Earlier, all the winners signed a letter jointly which was sent to the Information and Broadcast Ministry in which they mentioned that they felt disappointed on losing the opportunity of once in lifetime of receiving an award from the Honourable President. “We as film makers and artists put in all that we have and tenaciously stick to our dreams in a field of work where appreciation does not come easy. We are disheartened to know that we will be deprived of the honour of this appreciation of a once in a lifetime moment and pride and glory that the National Film Awards had promised us,” the letter read which was written to the I&B Minsitry.


    Completely agree with actors here…Ministry shouldn’t have done this into an unnecessary drama..Who are they to interfere with such prestigeous tradition..


    Atleast vice president shudve given the rest of d awards , nobody vl like to receive such an award frm soap queen smriti irani


    Is the award important or who is giving it ??? These so called artists are so petty !


      The dignity of an artist is more important. The politicians are petty to try gain political mileage through such events honoring art.

Leave a Reply