Arrest warrants ordered against eight actors including Suriya and Katappa aka Sathyaraj

The actors failed to appear in front of the court in connection with a defamation suit filed by Rozario Mariya Soosai

By   |     |   22,776 reads   |   3 comments

A district’s court in Tamil Nadu issues a non-bailable arrest warrant against eight actors from Tamil film industry which includes Suriya, Sathyaraj and Vivek. This came after the actors failed to appear in front of the court on May 15, 2017, regarding a petition filed by Rozario Mariya Soosai. The defamation suit was filed by Rozario in connection to these actors insulting a leading Tamil news daily and a journalist belonging to it.

In October 2009, Suriya, Sarathkumar, Sathyaraj, Vivek, Arun Vijay, Sri Priya, Cheran and Vijay Kumar had spoken against the leading daily in a meeting. The advocate K. Vijayan, representing the petitioner Rozario, urged the court to issue the non-bailable warrants against the actors.

According to the petition, these actors made derogatory comments against the journalist and insulted the leading daily. The petitioner Rozario Mariya Soosai filed a defamation case against all those involved in the meeting in October 2009 and the court had ordered them to appear on May 15, 2017, for a hearing. After these celebrities failed to appear, the court issued a non-bailable warrant against all the eight Tamil actors.

All these eight actors have now approached the Madras High Court and filed dispense and quash petitions against the orders. None of the above-mentioned celebrities has responded to these warrants so far and has been tight-lipped since the issue of the warrants.

The court has adjourned the case till June 17, 2017, which gives time to these actors to take action.


    Don’t simply judge the book by is cover


    Who gives a damn if it is Surya or whoever. Law is law and nobody is above it. Put him behind the slammer


    Lock them up for failing to comply with court order

Leave a Reply