Baahubali director SS Rajamouli conferred with ANR Award for his contribution to cinema

The ANR National Award was instituted by the Akkineni International foundation in the honor of legendary actor Akkineni Nageswara Rao.

By   |     |   3,734 reads   |   0 comments

Ace filmmaker and director of the magnum opus Baahubali SS Rajamouli has been conferred with the ANR Award for his immense contribution to Telugu cinema. Announcing the ANR National Award by the Akkineni International Foundation, actor-producer Akkineni Nagarjuna made the announcement today evening.

Nagarjuna also posted a message on his social networking page which read – “We are very honoured to announce the ANR Award to be given to our won jakkanna @ssrajamouli for his excellence in cinema in the presence of honourable Vice President of India Sri. M. Venkaiah Naidu garu on September 17th 4:30 pm at Shilpa kala vedika.”

The ANR National Award was instituted by the Akkineni International Foundation in the honor and fond memory of legendary actor late Akkineni Nageswara Rao. The award is given every year to recognize people for their achievements and contributions to the Indian cinema. ANR National Award was first awarded to veteran Bollywood actor Dev Anand in 2006.

While in 2014 the ANR National Award was conferred to Bollywood Mega Star Amitabh Bachchan, this year it is being awarded to Baahubali director SS Rajamouli. The other recipients of this award are Sridevi, Shyam Benegal, Hema Malini, K. Balachander, Vyjayanthimala, Lata Mangeshkar, Anjali Devi and Shabana Azmi.

Leave a Reply